#SOL24 Day 12: Bookstore Jazz

As you may have figured out from previous posts (or my bio), I’m a school librarian. Being in the center of the building, I have doors on either end of my room and an open walkway that serves as a pass-through for staff and students when I’m not teaching. (I really ought to get a red carpet or something for that.)

One of the things I like to do is to put on some kind of ambient music. If I’m not teaching, the music is playing. I try to do something different every day – Disney music, an aquarium or undersea ambience, a beach, zen music, or instrumental covers of popular music. Today, it’s bookstore jazz. I know I’m not running a bookstore, but given how often kids tell me they’ve come to my desk to pay for their books with their library cards, it might as well be.

Can I open a Starbucks or Dunkin’ in the back of the library, add some armchairs, and make it feel a little more real?

6 thoughts on “#SOL24 Day 12: Bookstore Jazz

  1. I would have loved for my school library to have had coffee in the back! I also wanted to hang a swing from my ceiling in my classroom too! Dreams are good!

    Like

  2. As a fellow teacher-librarian, uhm, yes, let’s do that. Add your red carpet, and more doughnuts, and coffee for everyone! (Well, maybe not coffee for everyone.)

    Like

  3. I love having instrumental music on in my classroom while my 7th-graders are working independently. Bookstore Jazz would make my day. I vote yes on the comfy chairs. Set up a Keurig, and you’re good to go!

    Like

Leave a comment