#SOL24 Day 9: Requisitions

I finally got the email I’d been waiting a while for – the packet to order new supplies for my library for the fall. I usually enjoy placing this order, as it’s a chance to go through what I have and figure out what I need or what I’d like…and then someone else gets to pay for it.

But this year, it feels different. We’ve received word that our district is losing funding for next year, and so the idea of ordering supplies feels a little bit sad. Sure, I get to order stuff, but what about the teachers whose jobs might be cut? What if my program looks different next year and if so, how will that change what supplies I need? And finally, I have to be a bit more stingy – what do I actually need, and what could I go without or purchase on my own?

I was hoping to put the order together from home this weekend, but now I need label measurements and tape sizes and stuff like that…so it’ll have to wait until Monday.

Leave a comment